Close Menu

CHS News

National Merit Semifinalists Announced

Congratulations to the following Creekside High School students who are Semifinalist in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Competition:

  • Evan Johnson
  • Maddox Jordan
  • Sabrina LaVopa
  • Ravi Nitta
  • Hari-Krishna Patel
  • Erin Philip
  • Krisha Shah
  • Wuzhou Xiong

FBLA Students Place in National Competition

After qualifying at the FBLA District and State competitions, Alexander Sheridan, Teja Nitta, and Rohit Bongu placed in their respective events at the FBLA National Leadership Conference this summer held in Chicago, IL.  Alexander placed 10th in the Introduction to Parliamentary Procedures event which included a timed, 100-question objective test.  Teja and Rohit placed 7th in the Entrepreneurship team event, which included a one-hour objective test where they had to place in the top 15 in the nation in order to qualify for the presentation competition round.  In this final round, Teja and Rohit were provided with a case study where they had 20 minutes to evaluate the case study, come up with a solution, and prepare a presentation.  Then they had seven minutes to present the case study and their solution to a panel of judges, who in turn asked follow up questions.  Congratulations Alexander, Teja, and Rohit!

The 2022 FBLA National competition included students from across the United States and nine additional countries, which over 12,000 students competing in various competitive events.

4A CHS Track State Champions

CONGRATULATIONS to the following track athletes from this past Saturday’s 4A State Champs Track meet at UF:

4A State Champions:

  • 4 x 800 meter relay: Tanner Simonds, Hudson Finocchio, McCall Williams, and Jesse Benavides. #1 in Florida, #9 fastest time in the nation, and all-time school record with 7:46.86
  • 200 meter: Christian Miller. #2 in Florida, and all-time school record with 20.82.

4A State Podium medalists:

  • Sydney Campbell, 4th 100m, 6th 200m, 3rd 400m
  • Christian Miller, 4th 100m with all-time school record of 10.47
  • Jesse Benavides, 6th 1600m, 7th 800m
  • Tanner Simonds, 8th 1600m
  • Maya Till, 5th Pole Vault
  • 4×400 girls relay team: Caroline Rice, Sydney Campbell, Brie Andrews, and Melissa Epting

Creekside ACE Teams Sweep Competition

ACE (Architecture, Construction, and Engineering) is a national after school mentorship program that our engineering students participate in throughout the year. Students work in teams and are given a project, where they must come up with a solution, complete designs, and presentation. Several engineering professionals work weekly with our students to help guide them through the process. The final presentations were held in April with the following results:

  • Creekside’s Bridge to the Future Team, won the regional Sustainable Concrete division. This team consisted of Tornyelli Adamah, Luke Dixon, Joseph Hadad, Nikhil Kumar, Karsyn Mosley, Corrigan Rotz, and Brandon Shaw.
  • Creekside’s Deb’s Store Team, won the regional Urban Renewal division. This team consisted of Emily Anderson, Melania Carrigan, Andrew Hardee, Chris Huber, Ander Nordin, Magnus Schmidt, Alex Simes, and Carter Smith.
  • Creekside’s Jacksonville Fire Memorial Team, won the regional Memorial to the Future division.  This team consisted of Garrett Alberts, Jacob Denson, Kaden Hooker, Ryan Nagao, Ingrid Soracco, Tim Vergeichik, and Annabelle Yazdiya.
  • Creekside’s National team, won 1st place in the National Sustainable Concrete division and 2nd place overall in the nation. This team consisted of William Bass, Alyssa Buckingham, Shaan Chudgar, Ryan Flack, Sydney Lynch, Erin Philip, Kendall Reckamp, and Brandon Ruckh.

Several scholarships were also awarded.  The scholarship winners at Creekside included Shaan Chudgar, Corrigan Rotz, Alexander Simes, Alyssa Buckingham, Brandon Ruckh, and Sydney Lynch.

CHS Teaching Academy Seniors Sign SJCSD MOU

Congratulations to the first graduating seniors in the Future Teachers Academy at Creekside High School! These five students are signing their MOUs with SJCSD and we are looking forward to calling them our colleagues in the future.

Erica Kromer placed 2nd in the state at the FIU Virtual Teaching Conference for her performance in the Job Interview category. Erica had to create a resume for a paraprofessional position and participate in an interview with a panel of judges. Congratulations, Erica!

Julia Blasio placed 2nd in the state at FFEA’s annual competition held in Orlando, Florida for her original lesson plan for 12th grade on poetry analysis using the B.E.S.T. standards. Congratulations, Julia!

St. Augustine City Commission Citizenship Award

Leah Crenshaw won the St. Augustine City Commission Citizenship award  to represent Creekside High School in St. Johns County. The award is for Leadership and service to your school and your community.


Honor the Graduate Awards

Every year the St. Johns County chapter of the Christian Educators Association International recognize two students from each high school who have lived out their faith during high school.  This recognition is called Honor the Graduate.  Our Creekside Brothers and Sisters in Christ and Fellowship of Christian Athletes clubs have been meeting throughout the year with many students participating.  Ella Diab and Sam Beasley were voted as the very deserving students to receive the Honor the Graduate recognition.

Dreams Come True Celebration

For several years, Creekside High School’s Dreams Come True Club has been raising money and waiting for COVID restrictions to lift so that they could grant a wish and celebrate a child battling a life-threatening illness.

Their dream finally came true when Ja’Mya and her family dropped in for a party, complete with yellow balloons and lemon cake (her favorite), games, and lots of goodies.

The 13-year-old, who has End Stage Renal Disease and is on the liver transplant list, received a magic wand to bring with her on an all-expenses paid 7-day trip to Give Kids the World, which includes Disney Parks, Universal Parks, and Sea World.

Additionally, she and her three sisters received gifts donated by students and teachers. “It was truly a team effort, and this group, led by Andrew Otwell, is amazingly dedicated,” said co-sponsor Heidy Weaver, who wanted to give special thanks to Leia Fixel’s theatre students and co-sponsor Tracey Pitts for helping make this a memorable event for Ja’Mya.

American Sign Language Honor Society Scholarship

Karsyn Mosley received Creekside’s American Sign Language Honor Society’s scholarship.  Karsyn has decided to dedicate her life in becoming a speech and language therapist specifically within the Deaf Community.  Her goal is also to “build up society’s perceptions” of deaf individuals and also help with communication barriers.  She has shown strong dedication through her four years of American Sign Language, and we are proud to award her the annual scholarship to help her on her life’s journey.